top of page

About the PTA

Oakton Elementary School is located on the corner of Ridge Avenue and Oakton Street in Evanston, Illinois. Home to three distinct academic strands (General Education, African Centered Curriculum, and Two-Way Immersion in Spanish) and a diverse and motivated group of students, Oakton provides education to children in grades K through 5 in Evanston-Skokie School District 65.


Oakton Elementary School has a diverse parent community and has had a long and proud tradition of outstanding volunteering and activism at our school. The restoration of the beautiful Roosevelt-era mural in the auditorium; the ever-popular Story Store, where students can get free used and new books, and the stunning student-designed mosaic at our front entrance are just some examples of parent-led initiatives at Oakton. 

We're thrilled you are joining us! Whether it's volunteering at Story Store, helping out with one of our fundraisers or events, or spending time with our kids in the garden, know that your talent and participation are always welcome! We can't wait to see what you bring to our community.

Sign up for our weekly updates

The PTA's weekly email newsletter the Cougar Bugle is the best way to keep up with what is happening week to week.  Sign up here and see past issues. If you have questions or information you want included in the Bugle, email us at

Attend a PTA meeting

PTA community meetings for the 2023-2024 school year are planned as follows:

  • October 5, 2023 at 6 pm - in-person community meeting

  • November 30 at 6 pm - community meeting on Zoom

  • February 22, 2024 at 6 pm - community meeting on Zoom

  • April 18 at 6 pm - community meeting on Zoom

  • May 16 at 6 pm - in-person community meeting

Login information for the Zoom meetings or the location for the in-person meetings will be shared in the Cougar Bugle in advance of the meetings.  All are welcome at our community meetings - caregivers, educators and staff.


Read the latest Cougar Bugle

Not getting the Cougar Bugle? Sign up here


Catherine Potts Watkins (she/her/ella)

Amanda DePalma (she/her/ella)


Molly Diehl


Denise Bouras

Lisa DiBattista

Vice Presidents

Erica Muhammad

Lindsey White

Garden Co-Chairs

Erica Nadasdy

Camille Walker

TWI Co-Chairs

Tim Ferrin

Alma Villaseñor Hembree

ACC Chair

Hannah Eloge

Chess Club

Neil Schweitzer

bottom of page